Business opportunities

Today I had lunch with Edgard and Keila, which was nice since I hadn’t seen them in over a month while I was back home for holiday. They shared with me their business idea of having a food business. It was fantastic. I could tell by our conversation that Edgard had been doing heaps of research and could quote cost figures easily.

It reminded me of something that Hiresh and I used to joke about when we were doing our Honours back in 2009. Being a funny guy, he would always mention some random economic term we had learned. One of those was ‘arbitrage’. He joked that we could engage in some sort of arbitrage (which, at the time, was about the stock market).

But really. The lunch with E and K reminded me again of the concept and to take advantage of price differentials. Price differentials even in businesses I would personally not enter into (such as a middle-priced childcare centre for international students with children). One price differential arbitrage opportunity is something I’m keen to try out. Having met so many food entrepreneurs who took the risk to start up a food business, maybe I need to stop being so hesitant and just go for it.

And I think I will go for it! It’s going to be a long process in development – I still have to finish my PhD, in addition to the fact that I’ll be holidaying post-PhD next year and then trying to find a job to build up capital for the business. But let’s see how it goes. I suppose if I never try, I’ll never know.

