I feel like I can get more unconscious as I write

You know artists paint and singers write songs to give expression to their thoughts and their feelings? Well, sometimes I feel like when I write, I almost feel unconscious – because the thoughts are escaping from my head, down my right hand, and onto the paper.

It depends for what kind of writing. Like, I can write about thesis-related stuff (some of which I forget once I write them down). That’s mostly okay.

But when it comes to creative writing, like for a magazine, goodness me, it’s terrible. It’s terrible because once I write, my level of consciousness drops that I can’t really process how to edit the story. And editing is so important! I spell well, I write coherently, I just don’t write overly flash. It’s worse when I read it the third time round, because by then I already need a lie down – that’s right, for an article that is only 250 words -_-”’

Fortunately for me, Toni (the online content editor for the West End Magazine) does the subbing for the articles I write. But I always feel embarrassed when she has to correct more than one grammatical error or more than a few superfluous words I’ve used.

Enough ranting. Here are the two most recent articles I have written:

Alliance Francaise’s “Week of Tastes”

Image supplied by Alliance Francaise de Brisbane

Image supplied by Alliance Francaise de Brisbane

 

Good Food and Wine Show 2014

Image supplied by Sam Navin (who I went with to the event); taken from The West End Magazine online

Image supplied by Sam Navin (who I went with to the event); taken from The West End Magazine online

 

