The importance of social media marketing

Photo on 24-12-2014 at 12.28 am

It’s been a very pleasant few days. I love how the holiday season makes me feel less guilty about taking time off my full-time endeavour (writing a PhD thesis) and how work for my creative outlets (West End Magazine and Food Entrepreneurs of Brisbane) slow down. I feel like I can finally snuggle into bed and stare out into the landing outside my bedroom for longer without feeling this awful feeling in my heart that I should really get out of bed and do something productive, like read a book or clean the house.

So I’ve been checking out a number of blogs by various people who started blogging or creating from 2008 onwards. I’ve been immensely inspired. Personally, I find it true that the glitz and glamour of the world of publishing and fashion can be wholly enticing. So much so that I’ve been looking at various magazine jobs online. One thing that struck me was their search for social media marketers or managers or interns.

I’ve had the chance to do a number of things with the Magazine and one of them is actually engaging in social media. You see, and this has been often repeated by people experienced in the area, that it’s not the number of likes that matters but the number of people who engage with you. In the past (and currently), I’ve been tasked with posting things on our Facebook page and trying my hand at Twitter. Admittedly Twitter can sweep me off my feet. It’s extremely fast-paced, and sometimes I wonder how people can manage to keep up with various threads when lots of different tweets keep bombarding the home page. Hmmm maybe I haven’t yet done it right. But anyway, seeing that social media is such a big thing, I plan to be more devoted to Facebook and Twitter the next year and see how it goes. It’s great work experience, and at least I can see how I feel with it to know if I’d like to apply as an intern or work experience or ideally an actual job doing that sort of thing.

If you are a social media person, any tips on what you do? I’m currently learning by way of Googling and by inferring from various posts the best way to do it.

And now, on a completely different matter, this Christmas eve is the most spontaneous I’ve had in years. Five hours before dinner, when I thought I would be happily resting at home or going out to the bar, I spontaneously invited the friends I was messaging over since I was preparing a salad for lunch the day after. At dinner, we had 6 people from 4 countries, cuisine inspired by Portugal, Spain, Chile, Italy and the general unclassifiable (plus French cider), and heaps of leftover food. I am a big sucker for Spanish cuisine and so I made gambas al ajillo (shrimp in garlic), below:

2014-12-24 19.04.53

