New skills: Creative Cloud!

I remember this quote from one of quirkiest yet more delightful films I’ve watched, Napoleon Dynamite, where Napoleon says,

Numchuck (sic) skills… bowhunting skills… computer hacking skills… Girls only want boyfriends who have great skills!

I’d say that something along the lines of Photoshop skills… Lightroom skills… Illustrator skills… Magazines want people who have great skills!

My online manager told me today, Monday 5 January 2015, that the office is open. Major oops! Because I had thought that we reopen either mid-week or sometime the next week. What that meant for me is that I had less than 24 hours to purchase Creative Cloud and learn how to use Photoshop and Lightroom. What a huge scramble that was. I have spent the better part of the evening, headphones in ear, watching several tutorials on Lightroom and Photoshop. They came from clicking a link in the Creative Cloud icon on my Mac, which led to links to other tutorial videos. My goodness, I know I always joke about people “photoshopping” pictures, thinking that the adjustments can be pretty creative or minor. The scales fell from my eyes when I saw the * m a g i c * that those programs actually do.

I actually downloaded a photo from Google, after searching “girl with zits,” and deleted the blemishes off her face within two minutes from the little I had learned over the past two hours. Impressed. Blown away. Well I guess I can tick major skin revision off my wish list now… My housemate came into my room as we ooh-ed and ahh-ed at this wonder that is Photoshop. I also used Lightroom on the photo below, which I took months ago after stepping out from the Brisbane city library. I just love the photo. Here we have four strangers walking towards the Victoria Bridge that leads to South Bank. At the right moment, I managed to capture them when they were extending one foot forward, with the distance between both feet increasing from the left to the right of the photo. And no, it was not staged!

Lightroom copy

So anyway, two hours isn’t actually sufficient to learn my way around everything just yet. But at least when my manager hands me some stories and photos to upload to our online magazine tomorrow, I’d have some sort of a clue.

Achievement unlocked: Basic Photoshop and Lightroom!

