Dancing in the Rio Carnaval, West End

So I haven’t updated in a while, I know! Since my last post, I have been to the office twice (or thrice). I’ve lost count.

Anyway, since then, I’ve started up by own Behance account! I am loving experimenting with Illustrator and Photoshop, and creating various images. I am even entering a poster design competition! (more details to follow in a few months).

Work in the office has been really enjoyable. My recent assignments have been posting on our sites, as usual. A new thing I’ve done is introduced our writer for Indulge to the recipes of a friend of mine, Rani from Rani’s Cuisine. We have a recipe section on the online version of Indulge and scouting for recipes, so I thought I could help by using my connections from Food Entrepreneurs of Brisbane. I’m happy to say that the writer was happy with the recipe for chickpea curry and hopefully I’ll have the great privilege of posting Rani’s recipe up online myself.

Another thing is that my manager has asked whether I would like to participate in the upcoming Rio Rythmics Brazilian Carnaval in West End – as part of the parade. Naturally I really do. So instead of just reporting about the events as they unfold, I’ll be taking the perspective from a dancer’s viewpoint and writing about one of the creative ways that residents in the 4101 can participate in a community event. It’s going to be fun! The rehearsal is for an hour today this afternoon, and I am really looking forward to learning some samba moves and picking out a costume.

Last, I am thrilled about my new hours at the office. They used to be from Mondays between 9 and 12 pm, but I’ve since changed them to Tuesdays from 2 – 5 pm. I much prefer the Tuesday slot, since I get to sit at a desk beside the manager. That desk also shares the same room as the designer and advertising manager, who is cool. I love how as work draws to a close and the office quietens down, I can spend some time chatting with the manager in a less formal setting. She’s extremely sweet. She’s given me some great advice like “Be a sponge,” meaning to learn and absorb as much as I can about what goes on behind the publishing industry.

So that ends another behind-the-scenes report of what goes on as my life as an intern.

Oh! Which reminds me. I applied for a volunteer intern position as an online fashion editor for Ra Ra Superstar, a vintage clothing store located in Paddington. I figured that I could learn more about the fashion publishing industry that way, plus develop my skills in styling, photoshop, and website building. So far, I haven’t yet heard a response from them 😦 oh well. At least I applied and let’s see what unfolds…

